Thursday, February 26, 2009

Where are they now

Everybody blames the bankers for the crisis , and probably rightly so , but just how much of the consequences of their actions have they had to confront and face ?

The Independent describes how failed bank directors still sit in the board-rooms :

Bradford & Bingley
Michael Buckley (non-exec 2007-08). A director of Nicola Horlick’s Bramdean Alternatives and sits on the M&T Bank board in the US.
Ian Cheshire (n-x 2003-08). Chief executive of Kingfisher, the B&Q group.
Nick Cosh (n-x 1999-2008). Director of City brokers Icap.
Sir George Cox (2000-07). Commentator on the banking crisis and chairs Warwick Business School’s advisory board.
Rod Kent (n-x chairman 2002-08). A governor of Wellcome Trust and chairs the Duke of Westminster’s £13bn Grosvenor empire,
Lady Patten (n-x 2003-08). Sits on the Marks & Spencer board and chairs the Brixton property group.
Stephen Webster (n-x 2003-08). Finance director at Wolseley plumbing goods group.

Sir James Crosby (1994-2006). Is still senior independent director at ITV and the Compass catering group, and last month became a director of Mysis, the software company.
Charles Dunstone (n-x 2000-08). A director of Daily Mail & General Trust and the Prince’s Trust besides running Carphone Warehouse.
Mike Ellis (finance director 1987-2004, 07-09). Is now a WH Smith director.
Tony Hobson (n-x 2001-06). Chairs Northern Foods and is a director of water company Glas Cymru.
Philip Hodkinson (finance director 2005-08). Chairs the audit committees at BT and Travelex. Director of HM Revenue & Customs.
Andy Hornby (1999-2009). Remains a director of Home Retail, the Homebase and Argos chains.
Sir Brian Ivory (n-x 1998-2007). Director of Scottish American Investment Trust and Rémy Contreau.
Karen Jones (n-x 2006-09). The founder of Café Rouge recently joined the Virgin Active board.
Kate Nealon (n-x 2004-09). Sits on the Cable & Wireless and Shire drugs group boards.
David Shearer (n-x 2004-07). Senior independent director at STV and chairman of Crest Nicholson.
Lord Stevenson (chairman 1999-2009). Director of Western Union and Loudwater Investments.
Mark Tucker (finance director 2004-05). Returned to the Prudential, where he is chief executive.

Northern Rock
David Baker (1973-2007). Chairs Northeast Enterprise Bond.
Sir Ian Gibson (n-x 2002-08). The former senior independent director chairs Trinity Mirror and the Wm Morrison supermarket group.
Michael McQueen (n-x 2005-08). Chief executive of the FTSE 100 private-equity group 3i.
Nichola Pease (n-x 1999-2007). Deputy chairman at JO Hambro Capital Management.
Matt Ridley (1996-2007 and chairman from 2004). Remains a governor of the Ditchley Foundation conference group with government ministers.
Sir George Russell (n-x 1996-2006). Deputy chairman of ITV and the veteran of boardrooms from 3i and Taylor Woodrow to Camelot.
Sir Derek Wanless (n-x 2000-07). Chaired credit and risk committees. Vice-chairman of Statistics Commission and chairs Northumbrian Water.

Royal Bank of Scotland
Colin Buchan (n-x 2002-). Remains an RBS director. His other boards include Standard Life and two Merrill Lynch trusts.
Jim Currie (n-x 2001-09). Director of Dutch aluminium group Vimetco plus the Met Office.
Larry Fish (1993-2008). Chairman of US Citizens Bank and director of Textron – the Cessna and Bell Helicopter group.
Sir Fred Goodwin (1998-2008). Chairman of the Prince’s Trust.
Archie Hunter (n-x 2004-). Audit committee chairman, still sits on the board and is director of Macfarlane Group and an investment trust.
Bud Koch (n-x 2004-09). A director of the federal Home Loan Bank of Cincinnati.
Janis Kong (n-x 2006-09). Director of Kingfisher, Portmeirion pottery, Visit Britain and chairs the Forum for the Future environmental group.
Joe MacHale (2004-). Still senior non-exec and a director of Morgan Crucible and Brit Insurance.
Sir Tom McKillop (2005-08). Director of BP and a Spanish drugs group, plus a trustee of the Council for Industry & Higher Education.
Sir George Matthewson (2001-06 after nine years running the bank). Now chairs the Edinburgh government’s Council for Economic Advisers.
Gordon Pell (2000-). Still an RBS executive director. Chairs the Business Commission on Racial Equality and is on the FSA Practitioner Panel.
Sir Steve Robson (n-x 2001-09). The former adviser to the Chancellors is now a director of JP Morgan Cazenove, mining group Xstrata and the Government’s Partnerships UK.
Bob Scott (n-x 2001-08). Chairs the Yell group with directorships of Swiss-re and Crimestoppers.
Peter Sutherland (n-x 2001-09). Chairman of BP and Goldman Sachs International and advises EC president Jose Barraso on climate change.
Guy Whittaker (2006-). Now finance director.

Not too bad for people with now a track record of incompetence and negligence

No comments: